Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
City Code Section 9.1.180. Number of Animals. It shall be unlawful for any person to have charge, care, or custody of more than 3 dogs. It shall be unlawful for any person to have charge, care or custody of more than 4 Cats.
City Code Section 9.1.150. Dogs which disturb neighborhood. No person shall own, keep, or harbor any dog which by loud, continued, or frequent barking, howling, yelping, or by noxious or offensive odors shall annoy, disturb or endanger the health or welfare of any person or neighborhood. A violation of this section shall be a class B misdemeanor and such is hereby declared a public nuisance, and each day the violation is permitted to exist or continue shall constitute a separate offense. This section shall not apply to the City Animal Shelter, Veterinary or medical laboratories.
City Code Section 9.01.05. Dogs running at large:
City Code Section 9.1.10: “Attacking dogs. It is unlawful for the owner or person having charge, care, custody or control of any dog to allow such dog to attack, chase, or worry any person, any domesticated animal having commercial value, or any species of hoofed protected wildlife, or to attack domestic fowl. “Worry,” as used in this section, means to harass by tearing, biting, or shaking with the teeth.” For more information regarding animals, view the City Code Chapter 9 - Animals (PDF) document.
City Code Section 9.2.01: "It is unlawful for any person to keep, or harbor or maintain any dog 4 months or more old unless such dog has been registered and licensed in the manner herein. The owner or custodian of any dog shall obtain a license for the animal within 30 days after the dog reaches 4 months, or, in the case of a dog over 4 months, within 10 days of the acquisition of the dog. Person seeking dog license shall be 18 years of age or older.” For more information regarding animals, view the City Code Chapter 9 - Animals (PDF) document.
City Ordinance 19.06.08 requires all residential lots to have front yards landscaped within 1 year and backyards within 2 years after receiving a Certificate of Occupancy.
City Ordinance Section 10.10.03.10B. Weeds shall not be permitted to reach a height of more than 6 inches at any time.
City Codes in Section 13.08.05. It shall be unlawful to park or keep any trailer, unattached camper, or boat on a public street.
City Code Section 13.08.06. It shall be unlawful to park any vehicle in the same location on a public street for a continuous period of time exceeding forty-eight (48) hours.
City Code Section 13.08.08. Every vehicle while parked upon the public highways, streets, alleys, or City-owned parking lots in the City of Saratoga Springs, shall:
However, if such vehicle is not required to be registered in Utah, and the indicia of registration issued by another state, territory, possession or district of the United States, or of a foreign country, complies with the laws of Utah and substantially complies with the provisions hereof, such registration shall be considered as compliance with this section.
City Code Section 9.2.010: "It is unlawful for any person to keep, or harbor or maintain any dog 4 months or more old unless such dog has been registered and licensed in the manner herein. The owner or custodian of any dog shall obtain a license for the animal within 30 days after the dog reaches 4 months, or, in the case of a dog over 4 months, within 10 days of the acquisition of the dog. Person seeking dog license shall be 18 years of age or older.” For more information regarding animals, view the City Code Chapter 9 - Animals (PDF) document.
City Ordinance Section 10.10.04.9B states that weeds shall not be permitted to reach a height of more than 6 inches at any time.
Payments for water, sewer, garbage and recycling can all be paid online by visiting the Xpress Bill Pay.
Voter registration forms are found at the following locations in Utah County:
Access the mail-in registration form (PDF) or visit the Utah County Elections website. You can also call the Utah County Elections Office at 801-851-8128 for more information.
Yes, a library card is needed to check out items from the library.
A new library card costs $1.00 which can be paid in cash, check or with a debit/credit card. You need to have current picture identification printed with your name and current Saratoga Springs address. We will also accept picture identification and recently delivered mail or pay stub, current auto insurance card or current year property tax notice with your name and current Saratoga Springs address printed on it.
When you received your library card, you agreed to be responsible for all fines, damages, losses and collection fees associated with your account.
An adult card for individuals over 18 can have as many as 50 items checked out and are limited to 10 DVDs, 5 video games, and 3 kits. A youth card for individuals between the ages of 13-17 can have as many as 10 items checked out. A child card for individuals under 12 can have as many as 5 items checked out. DVDs and video games must be checked out on an adult card.
The check-out period for books, kits, & audio books is 21 days. DVDs and video games are checked out for 7 days. An email receipt of your check out is automatically sent to the email address on file. There is no date due stamped on any item checked out. You are also able to check the date due and how many items you have checked out on our library catalog website or with the BookMyne app. There is no grace period. Books being returned via the outside book drop may be considered overdue if they are not returned inside the library on the day which they are due back.
All items except for Interlibrary Loan can be renewed 3 times (as long as there are no holds on the item). You can renew your books by bringing them in to the library, calling the library on the phone during library open hours and speaking to a library employee, or online. If books are renewed online on the day they are due, the renewal must be done before midnight or there will be an overdue fine assessed. When you call for a renewal please have your library card number available.
You may change your pin once you are logged in online or by calling the library during open hours at 801-766-6513. You must have your card number available for us to access the account. We can only reset the PIN to the last four digits of the account number.
Our fines and fees are:
Please do not tape any books or pages. The library uses special glue to fix ripped, torn or loose pages and covers. Tape is actually bad for the paper the books are printed on. So, if you accidentally rip a page or find a torn or loose page, please gather the pieces and let a librarian know about the damage when you bring the item back. In most cases there won't be a charge for ripped pages.
Internet is available to use in the library. You can use one of our computers- Microsoft Office 2010 word processing, PowerPoint and spreadsheet programs are available. Printing is available from the library computers; there is a 10¢ charge for each black and white page printed, and color pages are charged at 25¢ each.
We also offer wireless; check at the front desk for the wireless password. Printing is not available from the wireless.
If you have a current Saratoga Springs Library card, interlibrary loan of some items from other libraries is available. We will only process requests for items we do not have in our catalog. There is a form available at the library that you need to fill out. The process takes 2 to 3 weeks and there is a $3.00 fee to help cover postage costs. If we receive the item you request, you are responsible for the $3.00 fee regardless of the condition of the item or if you no longer require the item.
You may also check American Fork, Eagle Mountain, Highland, Lehi and Pleasant Grove Libraries. Your Saratoga Springs Library card is accepted at these libraries as long as your card is up to date and you have no fines or other blocks such as lost books and you pay ½ of that library’s non-resident fee.
As a patron you can have access to eBooks and eAudiobooks by going to Utah's Online Library or through the Online Resources page of our site.
The library will accept VISA and MasterCard for charges of $1.00 or more.
Yes, our outside book drop and media drop are located on the southwest corner of the library building.
The library can now email a pre-overdue notice to you if you have registered your email address with the library. This will be sent out 1 days prior to the due date of items.
We would also like to remind patrons that this is a courtesy service. If patrons do not receive the notice, due to error on our part or theirs, patrons are still responsible to turn in their items on the date they were told when they checked those items out, or there will be fines assessed to the account.
We will send you an overdue notice 1 week after your books are due back at the library. If you have provided your email address, your overdue notices and notice of items on hold will be emailed. You will receive a final notice when your items are 8 weeks overdue. Any library cards which have more than $50 in overdue or damaged items fines will be sent to our collections agency.
You are always welcome to call to find out when your items are due or access your account online through our website.
If you are not receiving emails from the library, do the following:
Donations are gladly accepted. If you wish to donate books, be sure they meed our Donation Criteria (PDF). Call ahead and make an appointment to donate more than 3 boxes at one time. If we are not able to use them on the library shelves, we add them to our items for sale through the Friends of the Library, enabling us to turn your donation into cash to help us purchase other needed items.
Check the proctoring section of our website for this information. If you still have questions please give us a call.
About 50% of children in families with domestic violence will also be physically abused.
Whether or not the children are physically abused, they will always suffer emotional and mental trauma from living in a violent family.
Storm water is the runoff from precipitation (rain or snow melt) that is not absorbed into the ground and flows over land surfaces entering our lakes and streams. As the water travels across land it collects debris, sediment, yard waste, engine oils, lawn fertilizers, herbicides, and other pollutants that negatively impact our lakes, streams and drinking water.
The City has put together and is implementing a Storm Water Management Plan. The Plan aims to educate and involve the community, provide guidelines and requirements to minimize pollutants caused by construction activities, improve and maintain current storm drain infrastructure, and minimize illicit discharges into the storm drain system.
Monday - Thursday
7 a.m. - 6 p.m.
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
View the 2017 Garbage and Recycling Schedule (PDF).
To reserve a park pavilion please fill out the Special Events Permit Application (PDF). Make sure to read the directions carefully as the Park Pavilion Reservation process is a small subsection of this permit application and does not require the submission of the full application.
To fully understand when a resident needs a building permit for a shed view the Building Shed Permit page.
You can license your dog at the City offices. We need a copy of current immunization records, including rabies shots, and the fee. For more information visit the Dog Licensing page.
If there is no attendant is on duty at the marina you must put your day payment in the self-pay envelope or come to the City Offices to obtain a pass. Additionally, annual passes are available for purchase at the City Offices.
A vested right is a right that a property owner has to approval for his or her land use or development application, which cannot legally be taken away until the right expires(2). The vested right includes the right to have the land use allowed or the application approved by the City(3).
(2) Western Land Equities, Inc. v. City of Logan, 617 P.2d 388, 396 (1980)
(3) Western Land Equities, 617 P.2d at 391 (holding that an applicant is entitled to favorable action if the application conforms to the zoning ordinance in effect at the time of the application)
A land use is any use of land, including homes, town homes, apartments, businesses, farms, schools, churches, etc(4). Allowed land uses are listed in the Land Development Code (“LDC”) as permitted or conditional uses(5). Anything not listed as a permitted or conditional use is not permitted and is illegal unless it has been grandfathered in(6).
(4) Chapter 19.04, Saratoga Springs Land Development Code (“LDC”)
(5) LDC § 19.04.07
(6) LDC § 19.04.04(2)
A development application includes an application for approval of a development agreement, annexation agreement, preliminary or final plat, conditional use, site plan, district area plan, community plan, village plan, etc.(7).
(7) LDC §19.13.04 and Chapter 19.26
A property owner has a vested right beginning when a complete application is filed-if the application meets City ordinances at the time the application was filed-lasting all the way through application approval and until the approval expires(8). If the City approves the application, the property owner still has a vested right even if the application did not meet the City ordinances at the time the application was filed if the time limit to appeal has expired, which is either 10 days or 30 days after a decision(9). For example, if the City approved an application and mistakenly believed it met the zoning requirements, and in fact it did not, the vested right would occur if an appeal or lawsuit was not filed before the time period to appeal expires(10).
(8) Western Land Equities, 617 P.2d at 391
(9) Utah Code Annotated § 10-9a-801(2); LDC § 19.03.20(1); see Fox v. Park City, 200 P.3d 182 (Utah 2008) (holding that upon discovering that a building permit was issued despite not being in accordance with City Code, no appeal can be granted after the appeal period ends); see also Lund v. Cottonwood Meadows Co., 392 P.2d 40 (Utah 1964)
(10) Utah Code Annotated § 10-9a-801(2); LDC § 19.03.20(1); see Fox v. Park City, 200 P.3d 182 (Utah 2008) (holding that upon discovering that a building permit was issued despite not being in accordance with the city code, no appeal can be granted after the appeal period ends); see also Lund v. Cottonwood Meadows Co., 392 P.2d 40 (Utah 1964)
If a land use is already established, the vested right lasts forever, except for a few exceptions in Utah law(11). In the case of development agreements, annexation agreements, district area plans, community plans, and village plans, the vested right and approval lasts until the agreement expires or until the time specified in the approval(12). For site plans, conditional uses, and plat approvals, the vested right expires at the time specified by City ordinances(13).
(11) Utah Code Annotated § 10-9a-510(2)
(12) See Tooele Associates Ltd. Partnership v. Tooele City, 2012 UT App 214. The Tooele court held that a City has a contractual obligation to uphold a development agreement and treat the developer fairly and in good faith. A City cannot hinder the developer’s performance of the contract or withhold additional approvals needed for the developer to proceed in accordance with the development agreement. The City cannot breach their own contractual obligations, despite any minor breaches of the other party
(13) Judkins v. Fronk, 234 P.2d 849 (Utah 1951). In this case, the property owner was issued a building permit for a gas station; thus, he had a vested right to build despite the fact that the zoning changed shortly thereafter. However, the court held that upon the expiration of that permit, no vested right existed
The City Council, or the citizens through the referendum or initiative power, cannot legally take away a vested right, or change the law for a property with a vested right, until the approval expires(14). However, the law may be changed for a property that does not have a vested right.
(14) Western Land Equities, 617 P.2d at 391
If the City chooses not to honor a vested right, the City will be responsible for a takings claim under the Utah and United States Constitution(15). This means the City will have to pay the difference in market value of the property before the taking as compared to after the taking(16). The City currently has a large number of properties with vested rights. As a result, not honoring these vested rights will likely result in a loss of hundreds of millions of dollars to landowners, and the City will be responsible to compensate these landowners for their loss. This is why the City Council has taken the position that Proposition 6 does not affect properties with vested rights.
(15) U.S Const. Amend. V. (“nor shall private property be taken for public use, without just compensation”); U.C.A. 1953, Constitution Art 1, § 22
(16) City of Hildale v. Cooke, 28 P.3d 697, 703 (2001); see also Kelo v. City of New London, 545 U.S 469 (2005) (for a more thorough discussion on requirements for a takings claim)
You must submit the voter registration to the following address before the registration deadline for an upcoming election:
Utah County Clerk, Elections Office
100 East Center Street
Provo, Utah 84606
You may now register to vote online if you have a current Utah Driver's License or State ID Card. Visit the State of Utah's website to access this service.
To register to vote in Utah, you must:
You may check your voter registration status online or you may contact the Utah County Elections Office at 801-851-8128.
Yes. You will need to submit a new voter registration form (PDF).
Please check your record for address accuracy and your party affiliation. If you have moved, changed your name, want to change your party affiliation, or for any reason your signature has changed, you must re-register. If you have moved from another state, be sure to complete the portion of the form requesting "Name and Address on last Voter Registration." This ensures your last registration record will be cancelled.
Contact the Utah County Elections Office at 801-851-8128 with any questions.
Out-of-state students who register in Utah will give up their home state residency. Students planning to return to their home state after completing their studies in Utah may consider voting absentee in their home state as an alternative to registering to vote in Utah.
If you have been asked to provide certified proof that you are registered to vote, the Utah County Elections Office can provide you with a Voter Certificate during regular business hours, and issue you a certificate so long as you are registered at your current address in Utah County; there is a $5 fee.
Yes and no. Declaring a political party is optional unless:
The party you declare is public information. You will need to contact the respective political party to obtain information about political caucuses, dates and places.