Coronavirus: State, County & Schools

COVID-19 Transmission Index

The transition from the phased guidelines of red, orange, yellow and green to the new COVID-19 Transmission Index was done to further strengthen the balance in our response to protect communities. It represents the collaborative work of state and local public health, the Governor’s Office, the hospital industry, business leaders, and important guidance from legislative leadership on the elements of the approach that will persist beyond the two week circuit breaker that was imposed.

The transmission index clarifies the public health metrics used to determine which counties are placed in which transmission level. Counties will be placed in one of three transmission levels: High, Moderate, or Low. These levels correspond directly to case rates, positivity rates, and ICU utilization.

Data will be analyzed weekly, and counties will be placed into a transmission level depending solely on what their data show. Changes from a lower level to a higher level may occur weekly. Changes from a higher level to a lower level may occur every 14 days at minimum, when thresholds are met.

The data helps us understand the real risk of transmission in our communities. Important health behaviors, based on epidemiology and medical science, are outlined at each level to protect yourself, your family, and your community from COVID-19.


Center for Disease Control and Prevention:

State of Utah & Utah Department of Health: 

Utah County Health Department: 

Alpine District: